Anxiety

Posted on May 28, 2012

4


Martha, Martha, you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed: love me with all your heart, soul, and strength.

Don’t be anxious about anything else! Don’t be so afraid of the future, or of being forgotten.  Don’t be anxious about what you will wear, what you will eat, or how you will pay for it.  Don’t dread your weariness and the burden of the week. Do not fear the darkness or the news that you will hear in the morning.  Do not worry about tomorrow- tomorrow will worry about itself. Can any of you, by worrying, add a single hour to your life?

Lift your eyes up from the valley of the shadow of death, up to the mountains. I will lead you to the rock that is higher than you. Do you not know? Have you not heard? My love drives out all fear!  I have redeemed you, I have called you by name, and you are mine.  You called to me and I am near, I hear your cry and I will save you.  I am not afraid, I am not tired, and I am the God of peace.  But I can sympathize with your weaknesses and you cannot fathom my understanding.  Cast all of your anxiety on me. Give me your heavy burden, and I will give you rest. I will deliver you, I will rescue you, I will answer you. Keep your heart, soul, and strength firm in your love for me, and I will keep them in perfect peace. I will take your beating heart and make it steady, and you will not be afraid. Absolutely nothing that happens tomorrow or today can separate you from my love for you.  Come and rest in the shelter of my wings. Never will I leave you. Never will I forsake you.  You need only be still.

With quotations from:

Luke 10:41; Psalm 112; Romans 8:31; 1 John 4:18-19; Psalm 119:28; Hebrews 4:15-16; Matthew 6; 1 Peter 5:7-10; Psalm 34:4; Isaiah 26:3; Philippians 4:6-7;

For some more verses about fear, see my other post, here: Regarding Magnus, Monsters, and Things you are Afraid of

Posted in: Seriously